Nominations Open for the 2017 Hamilton Environmentalists of the Year Awards

Hamilton’s Environmentalists of the Year Awards have been held each year since 1979, to honour individuals and groups who have made a significant contribution to the protection and/or enhancement of the environment in the City of Hamilton. Past recipients include: Dr. Victor Cecilioni, Dr. Ray Lowes, Gil Simmons, Dr. Jack Vallentyne, Don McLean, Dr. Lynda Lukasik, Ian Reid, Dr. Brian McCarry, Dr. Mark Sproule-Jones and Alison Healing. The 39th Environmentalists of the Year Awards are sponsored by the Conserver Society of Hamilton and District, the Hamilton Naturalists’ Club, the Hamilton Conservation Authority, the Bay Area Restoration Council, Environment Hamilton, the United Nations Association in Canada- Hamilton Branch, Friends of Red Hill Valley, the Iroquoia Bruce Trail Club and Royal Botanical Gardens.

Click here to complete the 2017 Nomination Form

Who can be nominated?

Individuals, groups, students or businesses can be nominated for the Dr. Victor Cecilioni Environmentalist of the Year Award, or an Award of Merit. Also each year the Betty Blashill Environmental Prize is presented by Environment Hamilton. Nomination forms for the Betty Blashill Environmental Prize can be requested by contacting Environment Hamilton at .

Selection Criteria
The Dr. Victor Cecilioni Environmentalist of the Year Award is presented to an individual, group or business in recognition of an outstanding contribution to environmental activity and leadership in Hamilton. The nominee should have demonstrated a long-standing, significant commitment to the environment, which may have been expressed in both professional and voluntary efforts. Normally this award is presented to recognize efforts spread over a period of years, however, a single outstanding achievement may be considered.

The Environmentalists of the Year Award of Merit is presented each year to recognize excellence in environmental effort in the Hamilton area by individuals, groups, students and businesses. This may include a sustained effort over a number of years, or particular projects that have taken place over a shorter period of time. More than one Award of Merit may be presented.

All nominees must have made their contribution in the City of Hamilton, or have had a significant connection to the City. Previous nominations may be resubmitted and past awards recipients may be nominated for a different award as well. Nominations must be submitted by March 31, 2017.

In selecting the recipient(s) of the awards, a panel of judges will consider the nature of the environmental activities undertaken by each nominee and the resulting achievements, using the materials submitted to support the nomination form.

Nominations for all awards are due by March 31 and must be accompanied by a detailed nomination package. Details on the Betty Blashill Environmental Prize forms can be requested by emailing

For media information, contact:

Barbara McKean, (905) 527-1158 ext. 247 –
John Struger, (905) 547-5116 –