About the EOY Awards

The Hamilton Environmentalists of the Year Awards have been held each year since 1979, to honour individuals and groups who have made a significant contribution to the protection and/or enhancement of the environment in the City of Hamilton.

Past recipients include: Dr. Victor Cecilioni, Dr. Ray Lowes, Gil Simmons, Dr. Jack Vallentyne, Don McLean, Dr. Lynda Lukasik, Ian Reid, Dr. Brian McCarry, GASP, and the Save the Valley Committee.

41st Hamilton Environmentalists of the Year Awards and Dinner cancelled

Each year, Hamilton’s Environmentalists’ of the Year Award Committee recognizes the efforts of individuals, groups and businesses who have taken an active role in environmental activity and leadership in the city. Given the most recent suggestions about the duration and disruption associated with the pandemic, the Committee has cancelled the Awards program and recognition dinner for this year. Any nominations received so far will be automatically considered for Awards in next year’s program.

We thank our sponsors for their ongoing support of this program: the Conserver Society of Hamilton and District, Hamilton Naturalists’ Club, Environment Hamilton, Bay Area Restoration Council, United Nations Association in Canada – Hamilton Branch, Friends of Red Hill Valley, Iroquoia Bruce Trail Club and Royal Botanical Gardens  We also urge community members to consider starting to put together nominations for the 42nd annual Environmentalists of the Year Awards in 2021. Information on the Awards, the application process and previous recipients can be found at eyoawards.com.

For media information, contact:

John Struger, (905) 547-5116 – john.struger@sympatico.ca
Barbara McKean, (905) 527-1158 ext. 247  – bmckean@rbg.ca

Awards :

  • The Dr. Victor Cecilioni Environmentalist of the Year Award is presented to an individual, group or business in recognition of an outstanding contribution to environmental activity and leadership in Hamilton. The nominee should have demonstrated a long-standing, significant commitment to the environment, which may have been expressed in both professional and voluntary efforts. Normally this award is presented to recognize efforts spread over a period of years, however, a single outstanding achievement may be considered.
  • The Environmentalists of the Year Award of Merit is presented each year to recognize excellence in environmental effort in the Hamilton area by individuals, groups and businesses. This may include a sustained effort over a number of years, or particular projects that have taken place over a shorter period of time. More than one Award of Merit may be presented.

Sponsors :

  • Conserver Society of Hamilton and District
  • Hamilton Naturalists’ Club
  • Environment Hamilton
  • Bay Area Restoration Council
  • United Nations Association in Canada – Hamilton Branch
  • Friends of Red Hill Valley
  • Royal Botanical Gardens
  • Iroquoia Bruce Trail Club