Nomination Form


Environmentalists of the Year Awards Committee Seeks Nominations for the 2019 and 2020 Hamilton Environmentalists of the Year Awards

The Awards Program

Hamilton’s Environmentalists of the Year Awards have been held each year since 1979, to honour individuals and groups who have made a significant contribution to the protection and/or enhancement of the environment in the City of Hamilton. Past recipients include: Dr. Victor Cecilioni, Dr. Ray Lowes, Gil Simmons, Dr. Jack Vallentyne, Don McLean, Dr. Lynda Lukasik, Ian Reid, Dr. Brian McCarry, Dr. Mark Sproule-Jones and Alison Healing. The 41st Environmentalists of the Year Awards are sponsored by the Conserver Society of Hamilton and District, the Hamilton Naturalists’ Club, the Hamilton Conservation Authority, the Bay Area Restoration Council, Environment Hamilton, the United Nations Association in Canada- Hamilton Branch, Friends of Red Hill Valley, the Iroquoia Bruce Trail Club and Royal Botanical Gardens.

Who can be nominated?

Individuals, groups, students or businesses can be nominated for the Dr. Victor Cecilioni Environmentalist of the Year Award, or an Award of Merit. In addition, the Student Bursary for Environmental Conservation is presented annually by the Hamilton Conservation Foundation. Also each year the Betty Blashill Environmental Prize is presented by Environment Hamilton. Nomination forms for the Betty Blashill Environmental Prize can be requested by contacting Environment Hamilton at .

Selection Criteria

The Dr. Victor Cecilioni Environmentalist of the Year Award is presented to an individual, group or business in recognition of an outstanding contribution to environmental activity and leadership in Hamilton. The nominee should have demonstrated a long-standing, significant commitment to the environment, which may have been expressed in both professional and voluntary efforts. Normally this award is presented to recognize efforts spread over a period of years, however, a single outstanding achievement may be considered.

The Environmentalists of the Year Award of Merit is presented each year to recognize excellence in environmental effort in the Hamilton area by individuals, groups, students and businesses. This may include a sustained effort over a number of years, or particular projects that have taken place over a shorter period of time. More than one Award of Merit may be presented.

All nominees must have made their contribution in the City of Hamilton, or have had a significant connection to the City. Previous nominations may be resubmitted and past awards recipients may be nominated for a different award as well. Nominations must be submitted by March 31, 2020.

In selecting the recipient(s) of the awards, a panel of judges will consider the nature of the environmental activities undertaken by each nominee and the resulting achievements, using the materials submitted to support the nomination form.

The Awards Presentation

Recipients will be recognized during a virtual awards recognition event via Zoom during Environment Week in early June.

Submitting a Nomination

If you would like to nominate an individual, group, student or business to receive an award, please complete the form below ( or Click here if you prefer to download and mail in the Nomination Form) and provide details and documentation regarding the criteria noted on the form. The nomination should describe in detail the nature and purpose of the environmental activity undertaken by the nominee, the resulting achievements, and the reasons you believe the nomination to be of merit.  Supporting material such as letters of reference and additional information and documentation must be included with this nomination. We regret that the judges can consider only nomination submissions completed in full.

Please forward supporting materials to:

269 Wexford Ave. S.
Hamilton, Ontario L8K 2P4

NOTE:    Nominations must be postmarked or received electronically at ( by March 31, 2021.

If you have additional questions, please contact:

John Struger – (905) 547-5116 (home) .

Nomination packages can also be requested by contacting John Struger at or  by clicking here to download and mail the form.


(Please click here if you prefer to download and mail in the Nomination Form)