EOY Awards

Click here to complete the 2016 Nomination Form

The Hamilton Environmentalists of the Year Awards have been held each year since 1979, to honour individuals and groups who have made a significant contribution to the protection and/or enhancement of the environment in the City of Hamilton.

Past recipients include: Dr. Victor Cecilioni, Dr. Ray Lowes, Gil Simmons, Dr. Jack Vallentyne, Don McLean, Dr. Lynda Lukasik, Ian Reid, Dr. Brian McCarry, GASP, and the Save the Valley Committee.

The 38th Annual Environmentalists of the Year Awards will take place on Thursday, June 8th, 2017, at the Michelangelo Banquet Centre at 1555 Upper Ottawa Street in Hamilton. Reception at 5:45 with dinner at 7:00.

Awards :

  • The Dr. Victor Cecilioni Environmentalist of the Year Award is presented to an individual, group or business in recognition of an outstanding contribution to environmental activity and leadership in Hamilton. The nominee should have demonstrated a long-standing, significant commitment to the environment, which may have been expressed in both professional and voluntary efforts. Normally this award is presented to recognize efforts spread over a period of years, however, a single outstanding achievement may be considered.
  • The Environmentalists of the Year Award of Merit is presented each year to recognize excellence in environmental effort in the Hamilton area by individuals, groups and businesses. This may include a sustained effort over a number of years, or particular projects that have taken place over a shorter period of time. More than one Award of Merit may be presented.
  • Student Bursary for Environmental Conservation is presented annually by the Hamilton Conservation Foundation.

Sponsors :

  • Conserver Society of Hamilton and District
  • Hamilton Naturalists’ Club
  • Hamilton Conservation Authority
  • Environment Hamilton
  • Bay Area Restoration Council
  • United Nations Association in Canada – Hamilton Branch
  • Friends of Red Hill Valley
  • Royal Botanical Gardens
  • Iroquoia Bruce Trail Club