Greensville Against Serious Pollution : Environmentalist of the Year – 1994

The Dr. Cecilioni Award winner for the Environmentalist of the Year in 1994 is the citizen organization, Greensville Against Serious Pollution, better known simply as GASP.

For the past decade they have worked to avert the social and environmental impacts of a megadump in our community. Their assessment has recently been supported by the decision of the Consolidated Hearings Board to unanimously reject the dump proposal.

Ken Goldman, Anna Maria Goldman, Mark Osborne, Ria Caandorp, Dave Robinson, Gill Campure and other members of GASP, have devoted time, energy and monies to inform themselves on the complex issues related to the siting of the landfill in an old quarry, and forcefully and successfully present the case on behalf of the whole community.